Currently, there are 12 states that have no-fault car insurance. If you have a car accident in these states, you must file a claim.
This insurance then covers some of the medical and repair costs as outlined by your coverage. However, not until you face severe bodily damage or disfiguration are you eligible for compensation from the other party involved.
To make up for this shortcoming, these states require all motorists to carry Personal Injury Protection (PIP).
But what is PIP? Keep reading to learn all about PIP and how you can protect yourself in the case of a car accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
The 12 states with no-fault car insurance policies have implemented PIP as a means for injured people to have easy access to health insurance in the case of an accident.
PIP policies differ among states and cover different expenses.
PIP in Florida
In Florida, PIP offers coverage for medical costs, loss of wages, and death compensation. Below, we will review each of these three categories of compensation.
In Florida, the statute offers up to $10,000 in medical and disability benefits resulting from injury, sickness, disease, or death due to motor vehicle use or maintenance. However, coverage is not at 100%. In fact, only 80% of your medical costs will be covered through PIP.
This means that if your medical care requires the full $10,000, you will likely have to pay $2,000 out of pocket unless your health insurance policy is able to cover it.
Further, this $10,000 coverage only applies to medical emergencies. If you seek medical care for non-emergency related injuries, PIP then only offers $2,500.
To be eligible for PIP compensation, it is essential to seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident. Failure to do so will make you ineligible for coverage.
Florida’s PIP can also cover 60% of your lost wages, up to a limit of $10,000. This coverage may also include day-to-day tasks and chores such as cleaning, laundry, pet care, etc.
If a PIP policyholder dies, their family is entitled to $5,000 in compensation. This often complements coverage of the aforementioned expenses as well, such as medical costs and lost wages.
PIP makes it more difficult to seek compensation from the other party if they were at fault. However, it does not make it impossible. If medical costs exceed $10,000 due to a car accident, drivers can still sue even if the initial injury was not severe.
Further, you can sue the other driver for immense bodily harm and they will be liable to pay based on what percentage of fault they played in the accident.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in Florida makes it easy for those injured in a car accident to seek health care. If you find yourself injured during an accident, it’s important to immediately seek medical care.
In fact, PIP will not even cover your costs if you do not seek medical care within 14 days. Due to deadlines and requirements such as these, it’s important to review your policy and coverage.
For more articles and resources on car insurance and assistance on filing a claim or lawsuit, visit our blog today.